a child’s note to God & the Western Wall

Today, I took my three year old son the Old City of Jerusalem. He had learned about Jerusalem in pre-school, and had been wanting to go for some time now. He wanted to visit the Western Wall, and put a note in it with a special prayer that he wrote (ok, dictated) himself.

It is often said that God is particularly fond of the prayers of children. I can see why.

When we arrived to the Old city, my son was very upset. He didn’t like that there were so many broken pillars. He was upset about the mosque where the temple once stood. (Pointing at the dome of the rock he said “That isn’t supposed to be there.”)

Once he got over his fear of the tourists and beggars, he went over to the wall and carefully places his note on in a crack.

Here, in his own words, is the letter my son wrote to God:

Dear [God],

Please make all the sick people feel better, especially Great Grandpa.

Please help the [IDF soldiers] fight the bad guys. Please take care of the [IDF soldiers], especially Sammy & Mordy.

Please fix the [Holy Temple in Jerusalem].

Please help me grow stronger and help me learn Torah.

Please help [my little brother] get stronger. Each day he will get stronger and stronger until he’s strong.

Please bring Moshiach.

Thank you for my fire truck and blocks.

I sometimes question my own parenting capabilities. Am I educating my children properly? I don’t know if I can take any credit for my son’s religious inclinations, but when a child asks, of all of the places in the world, to visit the site of the destroyed Temple in Jerusalem, somebody is doing something right.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

This entry was posted in Parenting, Religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a child’s note to God & the Western Wall

  1. Rebecca says:

    He’s growing up to be such a mensch.

  2. Keshet says:

    Just found your blog, David! Such a touching post!

  3. Chana says:

    wow David- Your post is making me cry! thanks for sharing

  4. Pingback: Lone Soldiers, My Daughter’s Crush, Moshiach & Shooting up the Vatican? | A Jewish Father's Blog

Leave a Reply

